Julia Child–Skeptic?


 

Julia Child was born on this day in 1912.  She died in 2004, just a couple of days shy of her 92nd birthday.  I think she was a fascinating woman and I find her quite inspirational. While reading about her I noticed some quotes that indicate she had a Skeptical attitude.

“Upon reflection, I decided I had three main weaknesses: I was confused (evidenced by a lack of facts, an inability to coordinate my thoughts, and an inability to verbalize my ideas); I had a lack of confidence, which cause me to back down from forcefully stated positions; and I was overly emotional at the expense of careful, ‘scientific’ thought. I was thirty-seven years old and still discovering who I was.”
from My Life in France

“…operational proof…it’s all theory until you see for yourself whether or not something works.”
from My Life in France

“Just like becoming an expert in wine — you learn by drinking it, the best you can afford — you learn about great food by finding the best there is, whether simply or luxurious. The you savor it, analyze it, and discuss it with your companions, and you compare it with other experiences.”

“I’m awfully sorry for people who are taken in by all of today’s dietary mumbo jumbo. They are not getting any enjoyment out of their food.”

“You’ll never know everything about anything, especially something you love.”

“I don’t believe in heaven. I think when we die we just go back to the great ball of energy that makes up the universe.”

And my favorite Julia Child quote:

“Everything in moderation… including moderation.”

This entry was posted in Stuff I Love and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

