Banging Head on Desk


I have a friend on Facebook, I’ll call her Meg (not her real name.)  We don’t know each other in real life, she’s a friend of a friend or something like that.  Anyway, she’s a very upbeat person and she posts nice pictures of the beach. 

I suspected she was one of those “spiritual” people from some of her posts, like “What magic can I be  contribute and receive today?” and “NO requirement to change who you are…if you are coming from Your Realism..whatever that is for you.”  But I thought it was rhetorical.  I might roll my eyes a bit but if I refused to talk to people who believe in any kind of woo, I’d have very few people to talk to.

But then yesterday Meg posts a photo of herself looking quite sunburned after a day at the beach.  Someone made a comment about sunscreen and she posted, “Sunscreen causes the big C, not the SUN…God does not make things that can heal a person to cause a disease.”  ARGH! 

I debated posting a list of natural things that can both heal and kill, or links to medical articles about the cause of skin cancer, but I didn’t think there would be much point.  After all, apparently she thinks everyone makes their own reality.  So in her reality, sunscreen causes cancer.  When someone disagreed with her, Meg posted, “So God creates this planet, the Sun, which can rejuvenate a body, and God will allow this same planet, the Sun, to kill us, or cause a ‘deadly’ disease?”

She’s a really nice woman, and I would hate to see her get skin cancer, but I don’t think there’s anything I can say that would get through to her.  I’m wondering if there is any way to educate people like this and I’m also wondering if I should just unfriend her and avoid frustration.  It’s probably good for me to be reminded that sometimes nice people believe crazy things, though.

This entry was posted in Just Wondering. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

