Stuff I Love–The Skeptic’s Guide to the Universe


I’m going to post something I love each time I post something I hate, just to remind myself that there is hope for humanity. 

Today I’m going to recommend a podcast, The Skeptic’s Guide to the Universe.  It’s described as “dedicated to promoting critical thinking, reason, and the public understanding of science through online and other media.”  The hosts are Steven Novella (co-founder of the New England Skeptical Society,) his brothers Jay and Bob, Evan Bernstein and Rebecca Watson.  They talk about new science stories as well as analyzing paranormal claims in the news.  They often have interviews with interesting guests like Phil Plait and James Randi.

One of the best parts of the show is the “Science or Fiction” segment when Steven Novella gives the others three news items and they have to figure out which of the three is fiction.  I usually get it right about 50% of the time, but I’m hoping to improve that percentage. 

They discuss logical fallacies often and that is one of the main reasons I’ve become so interested in recognizing them lately.  I also enjoy hearing their responses to the emails from listeners.   It’s a very educational show, but they  have fun with it and don’t take themselves too seriously.

There are 296 episodes so far, and all of them are available on the website:  http://www.theskepticsguide.org/

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Stuff I Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

